As we come ever closer to the election, America awaits the victor of the 58th presidential election in U.S. history. While there may be four competitors competing for your vote, in the end, only one will be called president. That is the heart of the matter.

As our country has been caught in turbulence through police shootings, judicial rulings, terrorism, the list goes on and on, your candidate, whomever you choose to vote for will not be the savior of this country. And nor will any person, except for Jesus. That is something, I myself, have come to realize throughout the past brutal months leading up to this election.

You see, whether the slogan you’re saying is, “Stronger Together,” or, “Make America Great Again,” neither one will solve the dilemma of America, or the human race for that matter. Neither campaigns are aiming to or will solve America’s dilemma; the dilemma of sin.

And you see, I hate saying, as a follower of Jesus, the old cliche saying of, “no matter who is president, Jesus is King,” but it holds so much truth.

You see, whether you have trusted Christ as your Lord and Savior, or whether you have not, you know that America is doing poorly right now. You see, I don’t have to tell you that America isn’t doing the best right now. You can turn on any news station and see the devastation. You can look right outside your doorstep and see injustice. You can see for yourself that America is not headed in a good direction. I don’t have to tell you that. But what I do have to tell you is that your chosen candidate will hopefully do what they are proposing to do to help better America, but they will never fix America.

They will never be able to make America completely flawless in its immigration policies, economic agendas, foreign affairs, etc. And here’s the thing too, even if they were able to do all of those things, America would still be in the same bad state it is in now. You see, a candidate can attempt to fix all of the external problems to the human condition, but they can never fix the human condition itself.

Going back to the election itself, there are three things that are going to happen when America finds out who its next president will be. People will either 1) be devastated by the elected candidate and wallow in despair, 2) rejoice that their chosen candidate has won and revel in that victory, or 3) find out the victor and continue on in life. Now you may say, Aleks, many more things will happen than those three outcomes you have proposed. Though you may have a point, the other options boil down into one of these three I have proposed.

Considering these three options, which one of the three will be you when you find out the candidate that has been elected?

Will you wallow in despair due to the candidate that was elected? Will you revel in victory because your chosen candidate has won? Or will you find out the elected official, and continue on in life? That is the major question here.

And with that question, I am proposing to you to consider the third option as your answer. You see, I don’t want to give the illusion that I won’t be upset depending on who is elected president, because I probably will depending on who wins. And I won’t say I won’t cheer for joy if the official I elected wins. I won’t say that I won’t do either of those two things, because lets be honest here, I probably will do either of those things. But apart from doing either of those two things, there’s one thing I will continue to do, and that is follow Jesus and serve Him.

Now you may ask, Aleks, how and why would you continue to follow Jesus and serve Him if your elected official doesn’t win? Why would you still follow Jesus if Hillary wins, obviously God’s Spirit is no longer in America? Why would you still follow Jesus if Trump wins, He obviously has no concern for America?

Here’s my answer, because no matter what, JESUS IS LORD. That may seem like a dumb answer, or a non-satisfactory answer to your question, but please hear me out and let me explain why it is.

You see, when it comes down to it, America isn’t looking for a candidate. America is looking for revival. Yes, I said REVIVAL. And here’s the thing, no presidential candidate will be able to revive America. They can fix a broken system of social welfare, economic policies, tax reforms, health care policies, on and on the list goes, but they cannot revive America.

And see, I’ll let you know something crazy. LIKE ITS LITERALLY CRAZY!!! I have honestly loved this election! I love the candidates, and how the election has gone so far. IM CRAZY I KNOW!!! Now you may be like Aleks, umm, I don’t think you’re thinking about the 2016 election that’s going on. BUT I AM. See, I’ve loved this election because what it has shown America is that there is no person who is going to completely fix America. All of the candidates have their problems, as well as America itself. You see, the corruption we see in all of the candidates, in their policies, in the scandals, in the news reports, and in America today points us all to one thing. REVIVAL.

While you may say, not really, let me explain my reasoning. You see, what this election has shown us is that every person is flawed, and so is our country because it was made my flawed people. And there’s nothing wrong with that, but we can’t look to a presidential candidate to mend what was lost, because they and we are incapable of doing such a thing. And you see, seeing the flaws of the candidates, our whole country has been shown that we are all looking for one thing, and that thing is revival.

And here’s the thing, only Jesus can bring revival. For there is only revival in His very name.

And revival is what I want, and what I think you want for America right now. We don’t want a candidate who can fix every problem, because we know they can’t. We don’t want a perfect America, because we know that’s not possible. But what we do want is revival. We want revival in our lives and in the lives of others. And that my friends is what I am asking you to pray for long after the results come.

For no matter what outcome we get with this election, there is one thing we still need, and that is revival. And here’s a passage that has really spoken to me, that I hope encourages and speaks to you too, regarding revival for America.

(Jeremiah 29:4-7) ““Thus says the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel, to all the exiles whom I have sent into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: Build houses and live in them; plant gardens and eat their produce. Take wives and have sons and daughters; take wives for your sons, and give your daughters in marriage, that they may bear sons and daughters; multiply there, and do not decrease. But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the Lord on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare.”

You see, God sent HIS OWN PEOPLE, HIS CHOSEN PEOPLE into exile. And He COMMANDED them to pray for the place of exile in which they were living because in praying for their city’s welfare, they would find their own.

You see, if God sent His own people into exile, then we can rest and know that everything is in His hands. When Rome was in power, God was still in control. When Nero was in power, God was still in control. When either Clinton or Trump are in power, God IS STILL in control. And we can also know that if we want to see America flourish, as well as ourselves, and I’m not talking economic gain, or something of that sorts, I’m talking about our lives, WE MUST PRAY. If we want revival, we must pray for it, and in praying for the revival of America, we should pray for it to come in our own lives as well.

So with all of that to say, I want to leave you with a few words. Whether you stay up and find out the results tonight, or find them out tomorrow, don’t be discouraged, or rub it in someone’s face, depending on who’s elected. God is still in control. He always has been, always is, and always will be. He will work in America no matter who is president. But pray for revival in America, and that America would be desperate for Jesus. Pray that the results would allow the body of Christ to be a witness of light and love. Pray that revival would sweep across the nation.

Because we don’t need a new president, we need a new love for God.

Well, i’m outtie.

-Aleks Bennett

 

 

